2024 Grand Marshal
Dave Rustebakke

Dave R.

David Rustebakke was born and raised on a wheat and cattle ranch near Scobey, Montana along with two brothers, two sisters, and lots of cattle, horses, dogs, cats, and miscellaneous other animals.    He spent his childhood running around the hills and helping on the family farm. 

He started school in a one-room country schoolhouse in Four Buttes, Montana, and graduated from Scobey High School in 1965.  From there he went to college and graduated with a DVM degree from Washington State University in 1972.

After graduation, he went on active duty as a Captain in the US Army Veterinary Corps in Fort Sam Houston, Texas.  It was there he met and married his wife, Karen.

After discharge from the Army, he and Karen moved to Morgan Hill, California where he joined Valley Large Animal Hospital, a 3-man equine practice. 

After 4 years they decided that California was not where they wanted to live and raise a family.  He ended up applying for an opening at the Lewiston Veterinary Clinic; he joined the practice in the summer of 1979.

He spent the next 20 years with the Lewiston Veterinary Clinic working with people most of us know including Dr. Bob Bryant, Leonard Eldridge, Ray Turner, Doni Wagner, John Hoch, Nick Egland, and Shelly O’Connell. 

In the Fall of 1988, he began his career as a dad with the arrival of his and Karen’s first son Kyle.  Robbie joined the family 2 ½ years later.  Over the next 20+ years, he faced the challenges most of us face in balancing family and work. 

In the Fall of 1999, he took a break from clinical practice and went to work for a private research group in Moscow, ID.  While there he worked part-time with the University of Idaho team that developed the first-ever equine clones; the mules Idaho Gem, Utah Pioneer, and Idaho Star.

In May of 2001, he returned to practice in the LC Valley.  He rented a small barn from Jim Bunch in the Clarkston Heights which served as the home of Rustebakke Veterinary Service for the next 8 years. He was joined by Dr. Jessica Bell in 2005. 

In the Fall of 2009, he moved the practice to its present location on 15th Street in Clarkston.  The practice continued to grow and by the end of 2022 employed 5 veterinarians and 25 support staff.

He is a long-time member of the American Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Equine Practitioners, and Idaho Veterinary Medical Association; several local horse and livestock organizations, and the LC Chamber of Commerce.   He served on the board of the Idaho Vet Medical Association off and on through the 1990s, becoming President of the IVMA in 2001.  He was honored as the Idaho Veterinarian of the Year by the IVMA in 1997.  The clinic was honored by the LC Chamber of Commerce as the “Small Business of the Year” in 2018. 

He has been available to help with educational seminars for local youth groups including schools, career fairs, 4-H, FFA, and Boy Scouts.   He and his clinic have been long-time supporters of the area fairs, the Lewiston Roundup, local cattlemen organizations, and other animal-related activities. 

He sold the clinic to Alpine Animal Hospital in Pocatello, Idaho at the end of 2022, and has agreed to remain on staff till he gets old enough to retire.  He lives in the Clarkston Heights with his wife Karen and youngest son Robbie, a dog and cat, and several horses.

Dave R.2

Past Grand Marshals

1982 Clayton (Butch) Butcher
1983 None
1984 George Hatley
1985 Louis Kohl
1986 Elbert Stellmon
1987 Dunc Branom
1988 John J Church
1989 Sam (Clarence) Ellerjack Maynard
1990 Mary Hepton George

1991 Robert Pennick
1992 John Sperline
1993 William McCann SR
1994 Dorothy Brock Nines
1995 Lewis Grove
1996 Hattie Kauffman
1997 Frank "Sully" Sullivan
1998 Warren Fuller
1999 Bill Stellmon
2020 John Skelton

2001 Arlene Maynard Worley
2002 Jack Carson
2003 Maxine Botts
2004 Leonard Eldridge
2005 Virgil Wicks
2006 Wayne Hill
2007 Marv Wittman
2008 Wiley Wagner
2009 Ron Jensen
2010 Jack & Blanche Tippett

2011 Donna (Plastino) Parsley and husband, Jack
2012 Mike Mitchell & wife
2013 Ron Koeper
2014 Davey McLaughlin
2015 Martin Stout
2016 Bill & Lori McCann
2017 Jim Luper
2018 Harold (Hal) Olson
2019 Clyde & Edie Longfellow
2020 None

2021 Duane & Eadie Saxton
2022 Larry Boyer
2023 Nick Egland
2024 Dave Rustebakke